Configuring SSIS when no default instance is installed

Hey, got an error message when I was trying to import a SSIS package in msdb saying I needed to configure SSIS. I never saw this before and apparently I’ve had always the luck of working on SQL Servers where a default instance (MSSQLServer) was installed. But where is this information stored? When I open the file ‘MsDtsSrvr.ini.xml’ in ‘%Program Files%\Microsoft SQL Server\90/100\DTS\Binn’ with Notepad I see the following information:

<?xml version=”1.0″ encoding=”utf-8″?>
<DtsServiceConfiguration xmlns:xsd=”http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema” xmlns:xsi=”http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance“>
  <StopExecutingPackagesOnShutdown>true</StopExecutingPackagesOnShutdown>
  <TopLevelFolders>
    xsi:type=”SqlServerFolder”>
      <Name>MSDB</Name>
      <ServerName>.</ServerName>
    </Folder>
    xsi:type=”FileSystemFolder”>
      <Name>File System</Name>
      <StorePath>..\Packages</StorePath>
    </Folder>
  </TopLevelFolders> 
</DtsServiceConfiguration>

When looking at the <ServerName> value everything comes clear. Just like in other connections the ‘.’ points to the local, default server. So from here it’s quite easy. I add my servername\instancename between the ‘<ServerName>’ tags. And off course I cannot save my package yet. The SSIS service needs to be restarted. And now I can move on.

Leave a Reply

